FAQ

What is Wildplastic?

We collect plastic from the environment, beaches, landfills and illegal dumpsites. And prevent more plastic from polluting our planet. We work with collectors around the world to put these recyclables back into the production cycle. We create fairly paid jobs and push for social and ecological change.

WHY IS YOUR BAG BETTER FOR THE ENVIRONMENT?

Our WILDPLASTIC products clean up the planet and reduce the damage to our ecosystems. WILDPLASTIC emits less greenhouse gases and needs fewer resources than alternatives like paper and products made from virgin plastic.

You import plastic from abroad. That can't be environmentally friendly.

Yes, it can. Transport only takes up a small part of the CO2 footprint and is more than compensated for by processing steps that we save. Moreover, crude oil, organic material or paper does not come from grandma’s front yard either, but is often brought in from distant parts of the world.

And why do you import plastic anyway? There's enough lying around.

Even if you see plastic in nature sometimes or and fish it from rivers, we do not have a plastic problem in Germany (or Europe ). We have a functioning waste system, which enables us to dispose of and recycle plastic properly. In other countries it doesn’t look like this yet. And we would like to help these countries to clean up. By taking the plastic from the local collection organisations and giving it back its value.

Which organisations do you work with? How do you ensure that the collectors have adequate working conditions?

We work with various collection organisations. At the moment, these are Plastic Bank, Plastics for Change and Empower. The payment of the collectors varies from location to location and from organisation to organisation. What we can say for sure: all our partners pay more, more punctually and allow a much more stable income than if the collectors were not working with these organisations. They also offer educational opportunities and chances for advancement. The working conditions for the collectors are also much better than without the organisations.

What about the carbon footprint of the WILDBAG?

We save up to 70% of CO2 emissions compared to similar bags made of virgin plastic. Since WILDPLASTIC has already been produced, we save emission-intensive processing steps such as the extraction of resources, refining petroleum, etc.

IS THE WILDBAG RECYCLABLE?

Wildplastic products are made from a single polymer material and can be brought back into the recycling process. Please make sure you return it into your yellow bin / or recycling bag. Or use this Wildbag as a perfect place for collecting more recyclable plastics. Use products as many times as possible before throwing them away.

And whenever you can: Reduce waste and plastic use. THANK YOU.

Are your really a responsible / sustainable company?

We have a clear mission: To rid the planet of plastic waste. To fulfill this mission, we have founded a steward-owned company. This means that all our actions are geared towards this mission and we can neither sell nor bequeath the company. The Purpose Foundation ensures this by holding 1% of the voting rights in the company and thus a veto right. More information at: purpose-economy.org

FAQ

Was ist überhaupt WILDPLASTIC?

Wir sammeln Plastik aus der Umwelt, von Stränden, offenen Deponien und illegalen Müllhalden. Wir verhindern, dass noch mehr Plastik dort landet und unseren Planeten verschmutzt. Wir arbeiten mit Sammler*innen weltweit, um diese Wertstoffe zurück in den Produktionskreislauf zu bringen. Wir schaffen fair bezahlte Arbeitsplätze, forcieren sozialen und ökologischen Wandel.

Was macht eure Produkte „umweltfreundlicher“, als andere?

Jedes Produkt von Wildplastic besteht aus Kunststoffen, welche wir aus der Umwelt aufräumen. Somit hilft jede einzelne Wildbag-Tüte, den Planeten etwas sauberer zu gestalten. Stück für Stück. Jedes Wildplastic Produkt ersetzt die Herstellung von Neu-Plastik und spart so einen Großteil an Energie und CO2.

Ihr importiert Plastik aus dem Ausland. Das kann doch nicht umweltfreundlich sein!

Doch kann es. Der Transport nimmt nur einen kleinen Teil des CO2-Footprints ein und wird durch Verarbeitungsschritte, die wir uns sparen wieder mehr als ausgeglichen. Außerdem kommt das Rohöl, Bio-Material oder Papier ja auch nicht aus Omas Vorgarten, sondern wird häufig aus fernen Teilen der Welt hergebracht. 

Und warum importiert ihr überhaupt Plastik? Hier liegt doch genug rum.

Auch wenn man in Deutschland immer mal wieder Plastik in der Natur sieht und aus Flüssen fischt, haben wir in Deutschland kein Plastikproblem. Wir haben ein funktionierendes Abfallsystem, was es uns ermöglicht Plastik richtig zu entsorgen und zu recyceln. In anderen Ländern sieht das leider noch nicht so aus. Und diesen Ländern möchten wir beim Aufräumen helfen. Indem wir den Sammel-organisationen vor Ort den Kunststoff abnehmen und ihm so wieder Wert geben. 

 

Mit welchen Organisationen arbeitet ihr zusammen? Wie stellt ihr sicher, dass die Sammler*innen adäquate Arbeitsbedingungen haben?

Wir arbeiten mit verschiedenen Sammelorganisationen zusammen. Momentan sind es Plastic Bank, Plastics for Change und Empower. Die Bezahlung der Sammler*innen ist von Ort zu Ort und von Organisation zu Organisation unterschiedlich. Was wir sicher sagen können: all unsere Partner zahlen mehr, pünktlicher und ermöglichen ein deutlich stabileres Einkommen, als würden die Sammler*innen nicht mit Sammelorganisationen arbeiten. Zudem bieten sie Bildungsmöglichkeiten und Aufstiegschancen. Auch die Arbeitsbedingungen für die Sammler*innen sind deutlich besser als ohne Sammelorganisationen.

 

Wie ist denn die CO2-Bilanz des WILDBAGS?

Da WILDPLASTIC schon produziert wurde, sparen wir uns einige emissions-intensive Verarbeitungsschritte wie z.B. die Ressourcengewinnung, Raffination, etc. Die Emissionen der Schritte, die wir zusätzlich machen müssen, also z.B. Transport, das Waschen und Aufbereiten des wilden Plastiks, sind dabei deutlich geringer. So sparen wir bis zu 70% CO2.

Kann der WILDBAG denn recycelt werden?

Wildplastic Produkte (z.B. unsere WILDBAG) sind aus reinem, hochwertigen LDPE gefertigt und können zu 100% wiederverwertet werden. Du kannst natürlich auch selbst noch einiges tun um Müll und Ressourcen-Aufwand weiter zu reduzieren. Versuche möglichst viel Plastik zurück in den Produktionskreislauf zu bringen. Verwende Materialien öfters und reduziere den Verbrauch von Plastik-Produkten wo immer möglich. Die Umwelt sagt DANKE. (Mehr zum Thema Mülltrennung, findest du hier.)

 

Handelt ihr wirklich nachhaltig?

Wir haben eine klare Mission: Den Planeten vom Plastikmüll befreien. Um diese Mission zu erfüllen, haben wir uns als Purpose GmbH gegründet. Das heißt all unser Handeln ist auf diese Mission ausgerichtet und wir können das Unternehmen weder verkaufen, noch vererben. Die Purpose-Stiftung stellt das sicher, indem sie 1% der Stimmrechte am Unternehmen und damit ein Veto-Recht hält. Mehr Infos unter: purpose-economy.org